Lena-Winslow wins third state championship

DeKalb, Ill. (WIFR) Lena-Winslow added three unanswered touchdowns in their win over Tuscola Friday to claim the 1A State Championship at NIU's Huskie Stadium. However the Panthers failed to score in the second half, allowing the Warriors to creep back up with a touchdown in the fourth to trail by just one point. Though in the end, the Panthers were able to hold off Tuscola for the 21-20 victory, claiming their third state title ever in school history.

Senior running-back Rahveon Valentine was named the Player of the Game with 19 carries, 140 yards and two touchdowns to help lead the Panthers to the championship.

With the victory, Lena-Winslow head coach Ric Arand earned win number 179, tying Jerry Lano at number 3 on the NUIC All-Time Wins List.