Freeport's Dedmond wins 23 Sports Ticket Male Athlete of the Year

Here are the nominees and total votes for the 23 Sports Ticket's 2018-19 Male Athlete of the Year:

Major Dedmond (Freeport) - 989 (WINNER)
Aydin Guttridge (East) - 868
Payton Lawrence (Dixon) - 484
Riley Wells (R. Christian) - 320

Dedmond beat out Guttridge by 121 votes tallied on our online poll and Twitter interactions.

In his senior year, Dedmond became a two-time all-conference quarterback and won the Pretzels' first state wrestling title in 36 years.