Blakely, Faworski lead local wrestlers at IHSA state meet

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. (WIFR) The Stateline was once again well-represented at the State Farm Center for the IHSA state wrestling tournament. Six local grapplers competed for a state title, two of them walked away as state champions.

Dakota's Phoenix Blakely won the Class 1A 120 pound title in the final seconds of the match. After the match, the freshman jumped into his coach's arms in celebration.

Winnebago's Bryce Faworski held on for an 8-6 decision in the Class 1A 160 pound final over Coal City's David Papach. The senior finished his season 39-1.

Here are the local state medalists, separated by class and weight.

Class 1A
106: 3rd Place - Garrett Luke (Lena-Winslow/Stockton)
113: 3rd Place - Maddux Blakely (Dakota), 4th Place - Donovan Crumpacker
120: 1st Place - Phoenix Blakely (Dakota)
126: 4th Place - Carlos Sanchez (Winnebago)
132: 2nd Place - Ethen Doty (West Carroll), 4th Place - Marey Roby (Lena-Winslow/Stockton)
138: 5th Place - Winston McPeek (Lena-Winslow/Stockton)
152: 4th Place - Jason Hermann (Lena-Winslow/Stockton)
160: 1st Place - Bryce Faworski (Winnebago)
170: 2nd Place - Andrew Wenzel (Dakota), 5th Place - Case Harmston (Lena-Winslow/Stockton)
182: 4th Place - Evan Riggle (Dakota)
195: 3rd Place - Sebastian Quintana (Dixon)
220: 2nd Place - Peyton Lind (Byron)
285: 2nd Place - Tyler Elsbury (Byron)

Class 2A
113: 2nd Place - Markel Baker (Freeport)
182: 5th Place - Matthew Chavers (Freeport)
285: 3rd Place - Isaiah Batteast (Freeport)