Rockford Police honor present officers, swear in future leaders with ceremony

By  | 

ROCKFORD, Ill. (WIFR) -- Rockford Police honored some of its current officers Thursday while looking ahead to the future.

Officers Eric McClain and Sisomphou Singmouangthong received the Rockford Police Medal of Lifesaving. The officers worked together to perform CPR on a driver slumped over the wheel of his car.

Police say the victim was driving with a drug addiction, but regained consciousness prior to being rushed by ambulance to the hospital.

Also at the ceremony, officer Andrew Dobran was promoted to an investigator role.

Five others were sworn in as officers, including Brendan Moore, Jordan Brickson, Jacob Ditzler, Frank Fabiani , and Lathaniel Best-Jordan.

"It's great to see new kids come in," said Rockford Police Chief Dan O'Shea. "It's the future of the Rockford Police Department, and hopefully they'll be here for the next 25 to 30 years."

Elijah Lowery, Joe Dredge and Matthew Fread were also honored with citizen related awards for their volunteer work and life-saving efforts.