Rockford Park District announces 2019 Snow Sculpting Competition winners

By  | 

ROCKFORD, Ill. (WIFR) -- The winners have been announced for the 33rd Illinois Snow Sculpting Competition.

Windy City Snowmen team of Kim McCombs (Captain), Mike Dillon, and Juan Zelaya won the 33rd annual Illinois Snow Sculpting Competition with their sculpture titled "Lincoln."

Windy City Snowmen will move on to the 2020 U.S. Nationals Snow Sculpting Competition in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin. In all six state teams, fifteen high school teams, and the winner of last year’s Illinois Snow Sculpting Competition participated in the February 6– 9, 2019 event.

The state awards are as follows:

Committee’s Choice – Team Pliml: “Bad Hair Day”

People’s Choice Award – Windy City Snowmen: “Lincoln”

3rd place, Rockford Park District Award – Frosted Flakes: “Iron Man”

2nd place, City of Rockford Mayor’s Award – Team Pliml: “Bad Hair Day”

1st place, State of Illinois Champions Award – Windy City Snowmen: “Lincoln”

The high school awards are as follows:

Linda K. White Spirit Award – Rockford Christian High School, “Tea-Rex"

Committee’s Choice – Winnebago High School: “Cact-Ice”

Artist’s Choice – Winnebago High School: “Cact-Ice”

People’s Choice – Rockford Christian High School: “Tea-Rex”

3rd place – Rockford Christian High School: “Tea-Rex”

2nd place – Winnebago High School: “Cact-Ice”

1st place – Byron High School: “Stone Cold"