Illinois stiffens penalties for Scott's Law violators in 2020
With the new year less than three weeks away, Illinois drivers may want to become familiar with new penalties and measures over Scott's Law.
The changes come after three ISP troopers were killed and 26 trooper cars were struck by drivers who failed to follow Scott's Law this year.
ISP says 5,860 tickets had been issued for Scott’s Law violations from Jan. 1 to Nov. 3. During the same period in 2018, there were only 738 citations.
Starting Jan. 1, 2020, the following violations and measures will take effect in Illinois regarding Scott's Law:
-The minimum fine for violating Scott’s Law will increase from $100 to $250 for the first violation, and $750 for the second violation.
-Those who violate Scott’s Law and cause an injury or death will be charged with a Class 4 felony.
-The Scott’s Law Fund will be created to educate motorists on the importance of Scott’s Law. This will be funded by a $250 assessment fee for any violation of Scott's Law.
-The Illinois Secretary of State will be required to include at least one question about Scott’s Law on the written driving test.
Scott's Law applies to drivers approaching any police or other emergency vehicle stopped along the roadway. When approaching an officer's vehicle with flashing lights, drivers are ordered to change lanes (if possible), reduce speed and proceed with caution.