UPDATE: Candidates file primary petitions in Winnebago County

By  | 

Updated December 6, 2017, 2:23 p.m.

UPDATE: WINNEBAGO COUNTY, Ill. (WIFR) - Here is a list of people who have filed for candidacy for the 2018 primary from across the state.

-Representative Jeanne Ives- Republican- Governor
-Associate Judge Donna Honzel- Republican- 17th District Circuit Court
-Ann Dempsey- Democrat- 17th District Circuit Court
-Bob Daiber- Democrat- Governor
-Erika Harold- Republican- Attorney General
-Sen. Kwame Raoul- Democrat- Attorney General
-Kurt Ditzler- Republican- Winnebago County Sheriff
- Mark Kleine- Republican- 17th Congressional District
- Representative Adam Kinzinger- Republican- 16th Congressional District
- Kris Schmidt- Whiteside County Sheriff
-James Marter- Republican- 16th Congressional District
-Sharon Fairly- Democrat- Attorney General
-Judge John Lowry- Republican- 17th District Circuit Court
- Paul Gorski- Democrat- Winnebago County Clerk


Posted November 27, 2017, 2:21 p.m.

WINNEBAGO COUNTY, Ill. (WIFR) - The ballot for Illinois' 2018 primary is starting to take shape.

Monday is the start of the filing period for established party candidates running in the March primary. Here in the stateline, candidates lined up at the Winnebago County Clerk's office in downtown Rockford to submit their petitions.

Candidate Kurt Ditzler was one of the first in line Monday morning to turn in paperwork for the Winnebago County Sheriff's office

"I've been a 31-year member of the sheriff's office, been in law enforcement, I've seen a lot of things over my career. I've seen the direction that the department has gone under this administration, and I think we've experimented with inexperience long enough," Ditzler said.

The deadline for candidates to file petitions is 5 p.m. Monday, December 4.