Advertisement

Stephanie Quirk

Multimedia Journalist
Rockford, IL
Stephanie Quirk

WHERE WERE YOU BORN AND RAISED: I was born in La Grange, Illinois and raised in Western Springs, Illinois.

WHAT COLLEGE DID YOU ATTEND AND WHAT WAS YOUR MAJOR: I went to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and majored in journalism with a specialization in community health.

WHY DID YOU GET INTO THE NEWS (OR SPORTS) BUSINESS/BECOME A JOURNALIST: I’ve always been fascinated by what is going on in the world around me. Whether it be global, national, or local news, it has always intrigued me. Growing up I always dreamed of being a reporter and having the ability to tell people's stories in a way that educates others.

FAVORITE THING ABOUT BEING A JOURNALIST: Getting to meet and learn about different people everyday! It’s awesome making connections with people who I may have not crossed paths with if it wasn’t for journalism.

WHAT IS THE ROLE OF A JOURNALIST AND A TELEVISION STATION IN OUR COMMUNITY: I believe my role is to keep everyone informed about what is going on

throughout the community. I also think that getting both sides of a story is important in delivering the truth to the public. The community relies on us to let them know what’s happening throughout their area.

WHAT DO YOU DO OUTSIDE WORK: I LOVE food. Trying new restaurants and different types of food is one of my favorite things. When I have free time, I usually spend it with my friends and family. I think quality time with the people I love is the best thing in the world. My family spends a lot of the summer in Wisconsin so we are always on the lake doing water sports, or just enjoying the outdoors. I like to water ski a lot. If I lived somewhere with mountains, I would love to be an avid hiker.

WHO IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PERSON/PEOPLE – OR ANIMAL - IN YOUR LIFE AND WHY: The most important people in my life are my family (two older sisters & parents), my friends, and of COURSE my dog Callie.

TELL US SOMETHING ABOUT YOURSELF THAT PEOPLE WOULD BE SURPRISED TO KNOW: I loved singing and acting growing up and was in a couple shows and commercials. If you have watched Chicago Fire or Chicago Med, you’ve probably seen me when I was younger.

WHO HAS BEEN THE BIGGEST INFLUENCE ON YOUR LIFE AND WHY: My biggest influences in life are my parents. They’re both incredibly hardworking, yet so humble about everything they have achieved, which inspires me to be the same way.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE DRINK: My favorite drink fluctuates a lot but right now I really like any citrusy beer or raspberry lemonade.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE DINNER ENTREE: I really just love sandwiches. There are so many different things you can do with a sandwich…and so many options of flavors to make them all unique. And you can make them hot or cold!

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE DESSERT: Chocolate peanut butter ice cream from Oberweis.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE HOLIDAY AND WHY: The Fourth of July is my favorite. My whole extended family always gathers at our cabin in Wisconsin and my dad and uncles have an annual firework show the day before. A ton of boats on the lake all line up to see. It’s super cool and always brings my whole family together.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE SEASON AND WHY: Summer is my favorite. I love being outside when it’s warm and the sun is always shining.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE SPORT: I loved tumbling when I was growing up so watching gymnastics is my favorite.

NAME THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE MOVIES: Interstellar, Argo, Ferris Bueller's Day Off, and Inside Out

NAME YOUR FAVORITE BOOK/AUTHOR: I’m not much of a reader recently, but the last book I read was Daisy Jones & The Six, and it was really good.

WHAT IS THE MOST DARING THING YOU’VE DONE I ate a century egg in Hong Kong which had a very interesting taste!

Education
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Latest News

    Latest News