IceHogs one of 28 teams to opt into AHL season

Rockford’s rival Admirals will not play this year
Rockford IceHogs
Rockford IceHogs(WIFR)
Published: Jan. 4, 2021 at 4:07 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

ROCKFORD, Ill. (WIFR) - The AHL announced that the IceHogs will be one of 28 teams that will participate in the 2021 season.

Rockford will remain in the Central Division with Chicago, Cleveland, Grand Rapids, Iowa and Texas, but this season will be without the Admirals and the Henderson Silver Knights, formerly known as the San Antonio Rampage.

The Charlotte Checkers, Milwaukee and Springfield Thunderbirds have elected to opt out of play for the 2020-21 season, but they will all return to play in 2021-22.

The league has yet to determine a schedule format for the regular season and the playoffs. The season is set to start on February 5.

Copyright 2021 WIFR. All rights reserved.