Six Enshrined in Canton

A half-dozen former players have been admitted to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. The Class of 2007 is made up of Michael Irvin, Thurman Thomas, Bruce Matthews, Roger Wehrli, Charlie Sanders and Gene Hickerson.

Irvin was the go-to receiver on three Super Bowl winners in Dallas.

Thomas, a talented running back who could also catch the ball, helped lead Buffalo to four straight AFC Championships and was the NFL's MVP for the 1991 season.

Matthews was one of the most-versatile linemen to ever play the game. His 296 games for the Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans franchise were more than any full-time positional player when he retired.

Wehrli excelled in the St. Louis Cardinals secondary and was one of the game's first shutdown cornerbacks.

Hickerson was a lead blocker for legendary Jim Brown in Cleveland and was chosen for the shrine by the veteran's committee, as was former Detroit tight end Charlie Sanders, a three-time All-Pro.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus