Winnebago County Real Estate Property Tax Bills in the Mail

WINNEBAGO COUNTY -- Annual Winnebago County real estate property tax bills for the year 2012, payable in 2013 will be received in the mail by homeowners, businesses, and farms beginning May 14, 2013. The property tax is divided into two equal installments, with due dates of June 14 and September 6, 2013.

Tax payments can be made at the Winnebago County Treasurer's Office, by mail or on-line at the County Treasurer's website Payments can also be made at many local banks and credit unions after the bill has been received. Tax payment stubs or computer generated copy of your bill will be required with payments made at banks or credit unions.

There are two options for payment at the online website:

E-Check: Tax payments are automatically withdrawn from your account. This is a free service provided by Riverside Bank and you do not have to have an account with Riverside Bank to Use it.

Illinois E-Pay: Illinois E-Pay, offered by the State of Illinois, accepts credit card payments using MasterCard, American Express, and Discover and credit or debit using VISA. There is a $3.95 convenience fee for using VISA debit and a convenience fee using a sliding scale based upon the amount of taxes being charged for credit. Payment through E-Pay can also be made by calling 1-877-690-3729, and enter four digit code 4070 for Winnebago County. The convenience fee is charged through the E-Pay Program; it is not charged or collected by the Winnebago County Treasurer's office. Discover Card is the only credit card accepted when paying in person at the Treasurer's Office. There is also a convenience fee for use of this card for payment in the Treasurer's Office.

Any property owner who does not receive a tax bill by June 1, 201, should call the Treasurer's Office at 815-319-4400 and ask for a duplicate bill or log onto the Treasurer's website at to print a copy. If you have a new address and do not receive a tax bill, and you have not changed your mailing address at the Treasurer's Office, please call 815-319-4400 to make arrangements to have a form mailed to you, or go to the above website and print out a change form. Changing your address at the post office will NOT change your mailing address for tax bills. Failure to receive the tax bill does not void the tax or prevent the addition of penalties and costs, if they become delinquent. The penalty for late payment is 1.5% per month.

Taxpayers can receive automatic email reminders about property tax bills and tax sales. Reminders will be sent approximately one week before both first and second installment due dates and again before the tax sale. Taxpayers must register for this service through the Winnebago County Treasurer's website. Contact information for taxing districts is also available online at

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 206948151 -
Gray Television, Inc.