Rochelle's Michelle Dobbs Makes All State Academic Team

Michelle Dobbs (center) with parents John & Kay Dobbs.

Michelle Dobbs (center) with parents John & Kay Dobbs.

ROCHELLE (WIFR) -- The Illinois High School Association (IHSA) selected 26 students for the 2012-13 All-State Academic Team sponsored by Caterpillar. The 13 male and 13 female honorees of the IHSA’s top academic honor were chosen from a group that included over 450 students throughout the state. On the team is Rochelle's Michelle Dobbs. Dobbs has had multiple accomplishments as a student athlete including a number one rank in her RTHS Class of 2013, a 4.65 Grade Point Average (on 4.0 Scale), and a 3-sport athlete: cross country, basketball and track, and school's 3-mile record holder.

“This is a tremendous honor and I hope every student who was nominated takes a great deal of pride in all that they have accomplished,” said IHSA Executive Director Marty Hickman. “These students are the embodiment of what it means to take advantage of the entire high school experience. I am thankful to Caterpillar for providing the All-State Academic Team platform to honor and congratulate them.”

Every IHSA member school was invited to nominate one female student and one male student. Nominees had to possess a minimum 3.50 grade point average on 4.0 scale after their 7th semester, have participated in at least two IHSA sponsored sports or activities during each of the last two years and demonstrated outstanding citizenship.

The nominations were evaluated by a committee of IHSA principals, representatives of the Illinois Activities Directors Association (IADA) and representatives of the Illinois Athletic Directors Association (IADA). One male winner and one female winner from each of the 7 IHSA Board of Directors Divisions were selected initially, while the final 12 spots on the team were then rounded out with at-large candidates from any division in the state.

The All-State Academic Team members were honored at a banquet at the DoubleTree Hotel in Bloomington April 15. The program is sponsored by Caterpillar:


Alexander Alcantara, Wheaton (St. Francis)
Adam Auten, Monticello
Sarah Bell, Bloomington (Central Catholic)
Emily Beltran, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Benjamin Brissette, Des Plaines (Maine West)
Jackson Cavett, Macomb
Michelle Dobbs, Rochelle
Bradley Dulee, Normal (University)
Emma Fisher, Elmhurst (York)
Emily Ford, Geneseo
Sarah Goodale, Carbondale (H.S.)
Erik Greenwell, Glen Ellyn (Glenbard South)
Jordan Harr, Carrollton
Abby Horn, Herrin (H.S.)
Nicolae Iovanac, Robinson
Jack Keelan, Chicago (St. Ignatius College Prep)
Jack Miller, Alton (Marquette)
Carly Niebrugge, Newton
Brian O'Keefe, Northbrook (Glenbrook North)
Bailey Peck, Rockford (Lutheran)
Rena Ranallo, Elgin (St. Edwards)
Stephanie Saey, Galesburg (H.S.)
Kyle Sottoriva, Carlinville
Allison Tran, Vernon Hills
Connor Whan, Rock Island (Alleman)
Rayanne Wright, Clifton (Central)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Gray Television, Inc. - Copyright © 2002-2014 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 203493121