Rockford School Board Races

By: Alice Barr
By: Alice Barr

Rockford school board incumbents Alice Saudargas and David Kelley hang on to their seats. However, the third incumbent in a race, Christina Ostergard, is off the board
The incumbent candidates Saudargas, Kelley and Ostergard formed an informal alliance leading up to the election. That alliance is now broken up as Christina Ostergard loses her seat.
Jeanne Westholder, the current president of the Rockford Parent Council upset Ostergard. Westholder gets 1,244 votes, for 72% of the total. Ostergard brought in 489 votes, for 28% of the total. Ostergard ran as a write-in candidate because Westholder challenged her petition signatures and got her kicked off the ballot.
David Kelley narrowly hangs on to his seat. With 846 votes, that's 47% of the total, he defeats former school board member Bill Neblock, who gets 654 votes. Bringing up the rear was Mary Heard with 275 votes.
Finally 90-year old Alice Saudargas is not done yet. With 1,852 votes, that's 57% of the votes, Saudargas beats out newcomer Jay Ware to serve four more years on the board. Ware had 1,355 votes. That was 42% of the total, not quite good enough.
"Im just thrilled that I have the opportunity to be on the board and help support Programs and continue the progress that we made," says Saudarga, subdistrict C.
"Four more years of progress I think are on the right track in the District 205," says Kelley, subdistrict G.
"We've done everything we set out to do and if it's not meant to be its not meant to be and I think I can get up tomorrow and know that I have my normal life back," says Ostergard, subdistrict B.
Jeanne Westholder, now the newest member of the Rockford school board says she's thrilled to have the opportunity to serve the Rockford schools and community.
Robert Evans ran unopposed for the fourth school board seat up for grabs in the elections.

23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 7075127 -
Gray Television, Inc.