ILLINOIS (WIFR) -- Lawmakers approved a bill to overturn the state's ban on concealed carry just days before the June 9th deadline.
What's next for the bill is the governor's response, but ultimately the bill will become law because it's veto-proof.
The bill would require gun owners to go through 16 hours of training and go through a background check in order to get a concealed carry permit. That permit will cost one $150.
Gun owners won't be able to carry their firearms on trains, buses, parks, schools - including universities - and bars.
The bill doesn't remove any current gun bans, those are still in place, but you will be able to carry in towns where those bans exist if you have your conceal carry permit.
There are differing opinions on concealed carry throughout the state. There are people who feel concealed carry puts the public at risk for more crime and accidental shootings. Others feel like it gives citizens a way to protect themselves. Both sides seem to agree it may take people here some time to get used to concealed carry.
"It's going to be a total different mindset for a lot of people,” gun owner Gregory Farnham said. “It's not like in Arkansas where you're born and you grow up and there's a .45 (a pistol) laying on the table and you're used to it and it's just part of life. So I think that's why it really bothers a lot of people."
If Governor Pat Quinn vetoes the bill, the legislature won't be able to override the veto until October which would miss the June 9th court ordered deadline for concealed carry legislation. If that happens, Illinois becomes an open carry state and each individual municipality could create their own law. Local reps say the veto-proofed nature of the bill puts the governor in a difficult position.
The bill doesn't go into effect just yet. Lawmakers say it could be six months before we can apply for a concealed carry permit.