Illinois Flooding

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) -- Six southeastern Illinois counties have been declared state disaster areas, giving them access to state resources in response and recovery efforts.

Governor Rod Blagojevich has deemed Clark, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, Jasper and Lawrence counties as disaster areas.

Levee breaks Tuesday flooded portions of Lawrence County near Lawrenceville, inundating a campsite and forcing the evacuations of roughly 200 homes.

The state has personnel and assets that can be mobilized to help local governments with disaster recovery. That includes such things as trucks, heavy equipment and work crews to speed debris removal and assistance with security and other public safety issues.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 19766004 -
Gray Television, Inc.