Forty Two Wisconsin Counties Declared Disaster Areas

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Forty-two drought-stricken Wisconsin counties have been declared disaster areas by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Governor Jim Doyle made the request on August 13th and announced the declaration today.

Doyle says farmers took a hit this summer with virtually every spot of the state touched by either drought or flood.

Farmers in the 42 named counties will be eligible for financial assistance from the federal government. To qualify, counties had to have at least one farm with 30 percent or more losses in crop production due to drought since April first.

Farmers have until June 18th to apply for low-interest loans and other available assistance.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:
23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 10917356 -
Gray Television, Inc.