UW-Rock County Registration for Illinois Students Starts Soon

JANESVILLE (WIFR) -- The University of Wisconsin-Rock County in Janesville is now accepting applications for the fall 2013 semester for 75 reduced-tuition slots open to residents of Illinois and certain other Midwest states. Through the Midwest Student Exchange Program (MSEP), which UW-Rock County joined in 2012, residents of Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Missouri, Nebraska and North Dakota will pay only 150% of the in-state tuition rate at this campus instead of the regular out-of-state tuition that is nearly double that of resident tuition.

UW-Rock County is one of the 13 two-year campuses of the University of Wisconsin System that offers an Associate of Arts and Science Degree that is the basis for more than 200 majors and a guaranteed transfer program that allows students to transfer to any UW System four-year campus for completion of a bachelor’s degree, including UW-Whitewater, UW-Milwaukee and UW-Madison. Students may also choose to complete a bachelor’s degree on the Janesville campus through collaborative programs with several other campuses or transfer to one of a number of private and public colleges and universities.

UW-Rock County joined MSEP last year because stateline-area students were interested in attending the campus, but the non-resident tuition was a barrier. Through MSEP, tuition for the spring 2013 semester for MSEP students was only $3,736.78 for students taking 12-18 credits.

Interested students should apply now and meet with an advisor about their plans for completing their bachelor’s degree so they can register for courses in July when registration opens for MSEP students. For more information, call Student Affairs at (608) 758-6565 ext. 200 or visit www.rock.uwc.edu.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus