Superintendent's Student Advisory Council Members Announced

ROCKFORD (WIFR) -- Rockford Public Schools selected eight high school students to serve on the 2012 – 2013 Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council.

The council serves as a liaison between administration and students. In the past, the group has spearheaded several projects, including Million Meals for Haiti, the Rockford Sharefest WALKaTHON and the Salvation Army’s food drive.

This year, the group plans to expand the Natural Helpers program. The program will encourage high school students to mentor and help other students in need. Council members will meet again this month to outline other key projects.

“I’m excited about the members of our student advisory council, and what they’ll accomplish,” said Angela Lundin, who is in her first year advising the group. “All of our students want to make a difference in their schools. “They want to be a part of improving our schools.”

The 2012 -2013 council members are:

Auburn High School: Anna Wilson

East High School: Raven Ross (co-chair), Logan Tillman (historian)

Guilford High School: Aubrey Baker-Clark (co-chair), Erkan Bertram (vice-chair)

Jefferson High School: Emily Britton (secretary)

Roosevelt High School: Gabe Lampley (treasurer), Candus Jones

Three members of the Superintendent’s Student Advisory Council attended last night’ board s meeting. They introduced themselves and shared details of their high school experience during comments from Interim Superintendent Robert Willis.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus