NIU to Award Five Scholarships in Honor Six Year School Shooting Anniversary

By: 23 Newsroom
By: 23 Newsroom

DEKALB (AP) -- Northern Illinois University is awarding five scholarships on the six-year anniversary of a deadly shooting on the school's campus.

The "Forward, Together Forward" scholarships honor the five students killed on Valentine's Day in 2008. The shooter also injured more than a dozen others when he opened fire in a school lecture hall.

The university says the scholarship is among the school's most prestigious awards. The scholarships will go to students with strong academic performances and selflessness toward others. Each scholarship is for $4,000.

This year's recipients are Kaitlyn King of Sycamore; Juan Molina Hernandez of Aurora; Lauren Noonan of Naperville; Joseph Palmer of Rolling Meadows and Christian Villalobos of Chicago.

Those five recipients will be honored at a private, on-campus ceremony next month.

23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 245513201 -
Gray Television, Inc.