Kishwaukee College PTK Chapter Announces New Inductees

MALTA (WIFR) -- The Alpha Rho Eta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society welcomed 55 students as new members this spring at Kishwaukee College. The new members were inducted during a candle-lighting ceremony held in the College’s Jenkins Auditorium on February 27. Alpha Rho Eta officers for the 2012-13 academic year are: Gladys Sanchez, President; Alex Dolister, Vice President; Carly Hoecherl, Recording Officer; Luis Aguilar, Public Relations Officer; and Jennifer Link, Hallmark Officer. The Kishwaukee College chapter faculty advisors are Laurie Hoecherl and Niki Criswell.

During the ceremony, inductees and their family and friends enjoyed a performance by Brian Beer on the Chapman Stick. The Key Note Speaker was Tania Nezrick, Kishwaukee College Biology faculty and Honorary Member of the Alpha Rho Eta chapter. Nezrick spoke on scholarship, learning, and achievement. After the ceremony was completed, inductees, family and friends enjoyed a cupcake and punch reception in the Kishwaukee College Conference Center Atrium.

Annually, more than 90,000 students are inducted into Phi Theta Kappa. The purpose of this honor society is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. The society provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals, lively fellowship for scholars, and stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

To be eligible for membership, a student must complete a minimum of twelve hours of course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college.

The following Kishwaukee College students were honored with membership in this prestigious organization:

Chana: Daniel Ankney

Chicago: Toya Woods

Cortland: Yasmine Brooks, Ayinde Clarke, Adam Nooncaster

DeKalb: Jacinta Allen, Damian Almaraz, Robin Field, Katherine Harrison, Cassandra Hightower, Alexandria Irvin, Russell Krause, Jessica LaPier, Zanete Plume, Cosette Price, Kristina Reyes, Monique Smith, Jorden Sons, Sara Vogeler

Earlville: Hannah Bialas, Casey Marks,

Forsyth: Ashley Belcher

Franklin Grove: Christopher Klenke

Genoa: Josefina Acosta, Willis Pope, Patricia Stensrud

Kingston: Steven Flattum, Mark Nicholson

Lee: Gabriel Hilleson

Malta: Micayla Skonie

Oregon: Alyssa Marchetti

Paw Paw: Tara Hendren

Plainfield: Samantha Basar

Rochelle: Israel Almaraz, Kelly Boerema, Emily Bunton, Joshua Helgeson, Adan Huerta, Shannon Martin, Jerry Simshauser

Shabbona: Claire Goodrich

Steward: Justin Hauck

Sycamore: Elena Baj, Courtney Cady, Dorothy Dorland, Rachel Gattone, Marie Hutchison, Dawn Keys, Erica Kosoric, Tanya Laborn, Nichlas Lafay, Olyvia Rand

Waterman: Sharon Cluff, Heather McCoy

Winnetka: James Nardini

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus