Illinois Supreme Court Appoints Longtime Associate Judge as Circuit Court Judge

By  | 

STATELINE (WIFR) -- The Illinois Supreme Court has announced the appointment of Associate Judge David L. Jeffrey as a Circuit Court Judge in the 15th Judicial Circuit. Judge Jeffrey was appointed to fill the Resident Circuit Court vacancy in Stephenson County created by the announced retirement of Judge Theresa L. Ursin effective August 31, 2014.

The appointment of Judge Jeffrey is effective September 2, 2014 and terminates December 5, 2016.

"I am gratified by the Supreme Court’s appointment as Resident Circuit Judge, and I look forward to fulfilling those responsibilities,” Judge Jeffrey said.
Chief Judge Ron Jacobson of the 15th Judicial Circuit said “Judge Jeffrey’s appointment as Resident Circuit Judge recognizes his long history of serving our circuit courts and community with distinction and is much appreciated.”

Judge Jeffrey has been an Associate Judge in the 15th Judicial Circuit since 1996.

While on the bench, Judge Jeffrey initially handled criminal, traffic, and small claims cases. Since 2004, he has handled all civil law jury and non-jury cases, probate, and chancery cases.

During his judicial career, Judge Jeffrey has conducted seminars for local bar associations on civil litigation issues. He is also certified as a new judge mentor in the 15th Judicial Circuit. He is a member of the Illinois State Bar Association.

Judge Jeffrey received a bachelor of arts degree with Highest Distinction in Political Science from the University of Illinois in 1976. He received his juris doctor degree from the University of Illinois College of Law in 1979.

After graduating from law school, Judge Jeffrey entered private practice at Jeffrey & Jeffrey Law Offices in Freeport. For 17 years, he focused his practice on civil and criminal litigation, probate, and estate planning.
Judge Jeffrey was born and raised in Freeport, and has been a lifelong resident of Stephenson County. He and his wife Jill have three children and two grandchildren.

The 15th Circuit is composed of Carroll, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, and Stephenson Counties.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus