HCC Foundation Announces 2012-2013 Scholarship Recipients

FREEPORT (WIFR) --The Highland Community College Foundation distributed approximately $300,000 to Highland students for the 2012-2013 academic year with over 300 people in attendance at its annual Scholarship Awards Ceremony on September 30. Approximately $5.7 million has been distributed to Highland students since the Foundation was formed. Some scholarships are based on merit and financial need; others are awarded to students based on where they attended high school and what major they are studying.

The following scholarship recipients were recognized:

BAILEYVILLE: Emily Bardell, Clarence W. Chapman

BRAMPTON, Ontario: Camar Parkes, Larry Kahl Athletic

BYRON: Tyler Nelson, Margaret and Clarence Mitchell

CEDARVILLE: Scott Armstrong, Kathleen A. Reed and Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial

CHICAGO: Demetrius Tolliver, Larry Kahl Athletic

DAKOTA: Nicholas Gimple, Jim Sacia and Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial; Lance McCauley, James A. Davis Memorial; Brady Schlueter, Joey Stott

DAVIS: Kyle Benning, Marion L. Byram; Brandon Holliday, Robert & Lois Harlan; Jennifer Lane, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill; Amy Martinez, Todd Engelkens Memorial; Mark Neuzil, Ennenga/Holm Memorial; Evan Russell, Fredrick and Alice Kirkman Memorial

ELIZABETH: Donna Marcotte, Betty and Ray Stamm; Matthew Steele, Wid Hance Automotive; Austin Wachter, Harold Lee Offenheiser Ecology-Biology

FERNDALE, Michigan: Patrick Onwenu, Larry Kahl Athletic

FORRESTON: Matthew Gors, H.G. Kable Memorial

FREEPORT: Mandi Armstrong, Ken and Marien Stein; Kasie Beach, Eunice O’Malia; Chelsea Boddie, Edna Hayden Johnson Memorial and Harry A. Warthen; Mikayla Boettner, Harold Lee Offenheiser Ecology-Biology; Jennifer Bookman, Marilyn Casey Nursing; Joseph Caldwell, James Padfield Memorial; Megan Carus, Joey Stott; Aaron Cummins, Raymond A. Klee Trustmark; Dustin Dach, Philip Gordon Memorial; Gloria Dandridge, Walker Mortuary, Ltd.; Brittany Davenport, Joey Stott; Tabitha Dowman, Dr. and Mrs. Orzo Hill; Alexandria Downs, Harold D. Walkup; Louise Flannery, United Presbyterian Church; Patrick Flannery, Joey Stott; Sherry Freitag, Maureen Baldwin Cosmetology; Elizabet Garcia, Ray and Betty Stamm; Jose Garcia, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Nursing; Amoni Grayson, Edna Hayden Johnson Memorial; Cammie Haffele, Illinois Health Improvement Association; Michelle Hail-Harris, Krug-Phillips Memorial; Courtney Hickey, Joey Stott; Douglas Janicke, Thomas E. Wallmo Memorial; Tysheldin Johnson, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Upward Bound; Anna Jungles, Charlotte A. Zartman and Opal Wade Memorial; Robyn Maxey, Harold D. Walkup; Kyle McKenna, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Business; Laura Miller, Harry A. Warthen; Laura Mills, Joey Stott; Ryan Moeller, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Athletics and Ronald Norman Memorial; Beth Newman, Marion L. Byram; Jennifer Nielsen, Joey Stott; Kendra Ostendorf, 1st Farm Credit Services Agriculture, and Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Athletics; Sabrina Parker, Anita S. Murray Memorial and Edna Hayden Johnson Memorial; Kate Peterson, Walker Mortuary, Ltd.; Michelle Queckboerner, Joseph S. and Bettye J. Mihina-Nursing; Kathleen Raia, American Business Women's Assoc.-TLC Chapter; Samantha Reeser, Edna Hayden Johnson Memorial, Jim Sacia, and Mary Gregory Warthen; Erin Rice, Illinois Health Improvement Association; Tonya Robinson, Richard Kerkhoff Veterans Memorial; Elena Rodriguez, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill; Cody Rogers, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Computer Science, and Dr. and Mrs. Spencer K. Phillips; Emily Shaw, Sarah (Sally) Dupee Memorial; Timothy Urquhart, Marilyn Casey Nursing; Zachary Vick, Rawson Engineering; Nicole Walsh, R. C. Miller Agriculture; Alice Webb, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Upward Bound; Kathrine Zellweger, Louis Fauser/Bankers Mutual Life

GERMAN VALLEY: Samantha Bender, Joey Stott and Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial; Hannah Curry, Kutz Family; Skyler Hayunga, James Schneiderman Memorial; Laurie Vincent, Joey Stott

LANARK: Abbey Grisham, Whitetails Unlimited; Samantha Kane, Harold D. Walkup; Jenna Simpson, Steve Mihina Mathematics-Science; Megan Woolcock, Mr. and Mrs. Robert P. Wurtzel

LEAF RIVER: Mikaela Rinehart, Ennenga/Holm Memorial

LENA: Jenny Farmer, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Business, Charles Endress Memorial, Dr. and Mrs. Spencer K. Phillips; Tyler Huttenlocher, Sarah (Sally) Dupee Memorial; Brittany Rothenbuehler, Joey Stott; Adam Troxell, Betty J. and Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Computer Science

MADISON, Wisconsin: Kiana Burnette, Larry Kahl Athletic

MILWAUKEE, Wisconsin: Iesha Barkley, Larry Kahl Athletic

MT. CARROLL: Ryan Kerr, James A. Davis Memorial

MT. MORRIS: James Barton, Davis/Balluff; Angela Glessner, Davis/Balluff

ORANGEVILLE: Kendra Love, Roger A. Hutmacher Memorial; Carrie Scherer, Jessica Theena Memorial Teacher Education; Kassandra Wells, Dr. and Mrs. Ozro Hill

PEARL CITY: Stephanie Ferguson, Louis Fauser/Bankers Mutual Life; Lydia Graves, Fehr-Graham & Associates; Katlyn Heinrich, Betty and Ray Stamm

PECATONICA: Samantha Ferguson, Virginia Ames Cosmetology; Dale Kemp, Jim Sacia

RIDOTT: Steve Hasselman, R.C. Miller Agriculture; Alex Larson, Northwest Illinois Deer Collectors Club

ROCK CITY: Katie Clark, Larry Kahl Athletic; Luke Franzen, Joey Stott

ROCKFORD: Nikole Steffenhagen, Margaret and Clarence Mitchell

SAVANNA: Jelena Runions, American Business Women's Assoc.-TLC Chapter

SHANNON: Brittany Barr, Betty J. And Lyle F. Gillespie Memorial-Nursing; Faith Stoner, Harold Lee Offenheiser Ecology-Biology

STOCKTON: Jacob Eden, Dr. Neal and Flo Chapin Wind Turbine Technology; Alesha Norton, Irma Dittmar Ames Memorial; Makenzie Finn, Ada Mook Memorial; Keeley Schulz, Betty and Roger Dornink Memorial

WARREN: Emily Ortman, Harold D. Walkup

WINSLOW: Stephanie Zimmerman, Leonard C. Ferguson Memorial

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
powered by Disqus
23 WIFR 2523 North Meridian Road Rockford, IL. 61101 Business: 815-987-5300 Fax: 815-965-0981 News: 815-987-5330 Fax: 815-987-5333
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 173797531 - wifr.com/a?a=173797531
Gray Television, Inc.