Belvidere North High School Announces Illinois State Scholars

BELVIDERE (WIFR) -- Belvidere North Principal Marc Eckmann has announced that 31 Belvidere North students have been recognized as 2013-14 Illinois State Scholars.

The prestigious award, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), recognized 18,863 high school students from across the state as this year’s State Scholars. Since 1979, over 582,000 Illinois students have been honored as State Scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top ten percent of high school seniors from 749 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

Baechler, Gunnar Bartuch, Anthony Callahan, Timothy
Carrick, Emily Cassaro, Kelsey Coslovich, Megan
Darling, Victoria Ellingson, Justin Elliott, Kollin
Forrest, Jasmine Galvan, Jesus Hellmann, Max
Hildebrandt, Kenneth Hulstedt, Heidi Isai, Mirlinda
Johnson, Lauren Kirkham Olsen, Lindsay Kitchen, Addison
Minarik, Dylan Moore, Patrick Mosher, Emily
Nellis, Richard Nettgen, Krista Nevicosi, Nicole
Nord, Erik Reilley, Conor Roman, Ricardo
Sanchez, Selena Sanford, Allison Walker, Luke
Zickert, Jordan

“We’re pleased to honor this year’s Illinois State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC Executive Director. “Not only do they represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois, they also are key to the state’s future economic well-being. The Commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers at (YOURSCHOOL) on this achievement.”

While the prestigious recognition does not include a monetary award, recipients are encouraged to cite the honor on applications for college admission and scholarships in addition to completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) after January 1 to determine eligibility for federal and state aid, including Illinois’ $387 million need-based Monetary Award Program (MAP).