Golden Apple Semi-Finalists

By  | 

The Golden Apple Foundation made a much anticipated announcement Tuesday. A selection committee has narrowed down the list of 500 nominees to 20 names.

The talented teachers in Winnebago and Boone County are advancing to the final selection process. They're nominated for five of the most sought after awards in the Stateline.

Congratulations to these nominees:

Holly Armato, Gloria Boersma, Wendy Breit, Carrie Brockway, Jane Jensen Burden, Sarah Decker, Kristen Ferguson, Kristi Franseen, Paula Gould, Traci Hill, Sandra Jacobs, Julie Johnson, Martha Kaiser, Sarah Morales, Victoria Nichols, Kyle Orendorff, Judy Stringham, Heather Swanson, Sally Williams and finally Gregory Zarembski.

The nominees still have a long and rigorous selection process ahead of them. They will be observed in their classrooms on four separate occasions during January and February.

They will be interviewed in the final stage. Five teachers will be surprised in their classrooms next April. They will also be honored at a banquet at the end of April.