Kansas Joins Illinois' Prescription Drug Import Program

By  | 

Blagojevich appeared with the governor of Kansas in Topeka on Tuesday to announce that Kansas has become the fourth state to join I-Save Rx.

Residents in Illinois, Wisconsin and Missouri are already eligible for the program, which is designed to help people import cheaper prescription refills from Europe and Canada.

Blagojevich started the program in October, but it's gotten off to a slow start. Only about 1,200 people have signed up, although more than 29,000 have asked for enrollment forms.

I-Save Rx works through a clearinghouse to connect consumers to pharmacies and wholesalers. It promises savings of up to 50 percent on about 100 prescription drugs.